10 new books coming out this week ‹CrimeReads


Another week, another batch of books for your TBR pile. Good reading, folks.

*

Samantha Downing, For your own sake
(Berkley)

Just finished reading this wonderfully dark, twisted and compelling thriller set in a prestigious private school. I ran through it, desperate to know how it would end. ”
–BA Paris

Owen Matthews, Red traitor
(Doubleday)

“Buffers in the Cold War will especially enjoy the ride, though any reader who appreciates the finer points of espionage and foreign intrigue will also be pleased.”
– Publisher’s weekly

Daniel Silva, Cellists
(Harper)

“Gabriel Allon is going after the deadly weapon available to the Russian president – his money.”
–Circus Reviews

Elisabeth de Mariaffi, The withdrawal
(Mulholland Books)

“Wonderfully absorbing and haunting. . . With a dabble each of Hitchcock thriller, cozy mystery and domestic noir, The Retreat offers a terrifyingly fun read. ”
–Amy Stuart

The article continues after the announcement

Greg Buchanan, Sixteen horses
(Flatiron Books)

“Dark, visceral and disturbing, this very exciting and beautifully written thriller is absolutely gripping from start to finish. A hugely impressive debut. ”
–Alex Michaelides

Akash Kapur, Better to Have Gone: Love, Death, and the Quest for Utopia in Auroville
(Scribner)

“An enlightening look at how a well-meaning utopian society in India was complicated by reality. . . . propulsive. . . . captivating. . . . Expect the unexpected in this fascinating story. ”
Publishers Weekly

Ann Hagedorn, Sleeper Agent: Atomic Spy in America that escaped
(Simon and Schuster)

The article continues after the announcement

“A conspicuous account of perhaps the Soviet Union’s most successful sleeping agent.”
–Circus Reviews

Louise Candlish, The other passenger
(Atria)

“Sure to please readers looking for thrillers in the vein of Lisa Jewell and Aimee Molloy; a side turner with a seat with character and thematic depth. ”
–Library diary

Otto Penzler (editor), Golden Age Detective Stories
(American Mystery Classics)

In addition to well-known contributors, such as Ellery Queen and Erle Stanley Gardner, Penzler presents memorable stories from the lesser-known […] This sampler is an easy gateway to other volumes in this high quality series. ”
Publishers Weekly

Elizabeth Gilpin, Stolen
(Grand Central)

“Confronting the ugliness of a system that nearly killed her, Gilpin emerges victorious in a narrative that exudes humanity. This unclear account is impossible to close. ”
Publishers Weekly



Source link